Gyo-o

Screenshot_2015-07-27-12-48-00-1

I really wanted to eat some authentic Japanese food and my friends and I were in Richmond one day so we decided to check gyo-o out as I have been keeping my eyes on this place for a while. Gyo-o is located in the Continental plaza a few blocks away from Aberdeen station and Aberdeen centre The restaurant was very busy and packed on a sunday during lunch time. The interior was very cute, there were wooden blocks on the walls with random Japanese writing on them. I decided to order whatever seemed popular on instagram and blog posts.

Miso Soup
Screenshot_2015-07-27-12-46-08-1

The miso soup came along with the seafood yukke udon. I believe it had green onions and a few pieces of tofu in it. It’s your typical average miso soup so there is nothing much to say about it.

Seafood Yukke Don
Screenshot_2015-07-27-12-46-25-1

This consists of assorted seafood, a poached egg, ginger bits, green onion, rice, and some type on seaweed as a garnish. The egg was perfectly poached and scrumptious. The sashimi were covered in a delicious sauce that was slightly sweet. I really disliked the ginger bits as I’m not a big fan of ginger. I also really wish there was more seafood on it though, there was plenty of left over rice afterwards. The ratio of seafood/toppings to rice was like 1:6….

Spicy Tuna and Salmon Sashimi Cold Udon
Screenshot_2015-07-27-12-46-42-1

This was good however it was a really small portion and there was not enough toppings nor sauce. The sashimi was covered with the same type of delicious sauce from the Seafood yukke don and it also had that beautiful poached egg on top too. Also, I found the noodles to be a tad bit too hard for my liking, but that is probably just my personal preference though.

Spicy Chicken Salad Cold Ramen
Screenshot_2015-07-27-12-46-58-1

This had ramen, a lot of mayonnaise, a decent amount of vegetables, and a few pieces of chicken. I thought the mayonnaise would be too greasy to that but it matched the dish pretty well. The chicken was delicious, however there was only perhaps three small pieces of chicken. The ramen was nicely cooked but I wish there was some other type of sauce or seasoning on the ramen besides or instead of the mayonnaise. There were more toppings on this ramen compared to the other dishes we ate but it still wasn’t enough, We still found it to be a little bit bland and boring.

ribbon
Overall Rating: 8/10
The food tasted good, and the toppings on the dishes were flavourful, however I believe it is pretty overpriced for the portions that you get, and they don’t give enough sashimi or toppings on your food for that price. I’m not sure if I would come back here with all the other Japanese restaurants in the city.  It did seem pretty authentic though so I would recommend this to people who eat small portions and don’t care for the price…

Gyo-O Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

