Meat & Bread

20150710_150731

Meat & Bread is currently a very popular sandwich shop, I believe this is due to the fact that they were featured on Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives. After I watched that episode and after I heard people say that is was amazing, I really wanted to visit Meat & Bread. They currently have three locations in Vancouver. Their menu is very simple with only a few options. there is their famous porchetta, a daily special, and two other sandwiches.  The staff members were very polite and professional.

Screenshot_2015-07-11-17-46-32-1

They cut and prepare the sandwiches right in front of your face, which I thought was really interesting.

Porchetta Sandwich($9)
Screenshot_2015-07-11-17-47-01-1

This is the sandwich that they are known for. This is literally just meat and bread, no veggies which I liked. The porchetta was very moist, extremely tender, and fatty, however a little bit too fatty for my liking. The Salsa De Verde complimented the porchetta very well and added a nice flavour. My favorite part was the pork crackling. It added a fun crunchy texture to the dish. If you don’t know what pork crackling is, it is crispy pork skin. It is essentially the same as the skin from the common Chinese roast pork dish. Unfortunately I was not a big fan of the bread, it was a bit tough and dry so It was a little bit hard to bite. I believe this sandwich was a perfect size for one person. I left without being hungry but not too full.

Screenshot_2015-07-11-17-46-02-1

Be sure to have napkins with you as this sandwich can get kind of messy with meat falling out!

91901-tumblr_inline_nblpg5rzok1sxiy4t
Overall Rating: 9/10
I thought it was delicious but for some reason I felt a tiny bit disappointed. This is probably because it was a bit over hyped. It was not as amazing as everyone said it would be however, it was still scrumptious. I do recommend this place and I believe the price and size of the sandwich was alright too.

Other Notes:
My favorite sandwich ever will still be the lamb baguette from Chez Meme Baguette Bistro

Click to add a blog post for Meat And Bread on Zomato

Leave a Reply

