Kishimoto Japanese Kitchen & Sushi Bar

Screenshot_2015-07-11-17-55-16-1

I really wanted to visit Kishimoto because it is currently one of the most popular sushi restaurants in town and I was curious to see why. My friend and I arrived at around 6:00 and there were a few tables ahead of us so it was probably a 20 minute wait. The place was hot and humid as there was no air conditioning and it didn’t help that the place was small and cramped with people.

Salmon Oshisushi ($13.95)
Screenshot_2015-07-11-17-51-06-1-1

Their Oshisushi is very popular and I believe that is why many people visit kishimoto. I still liked the oshisushi from Miku and Minami better, but I enjoyed this too. This consisted of a creamy sauce on top, salmon, and a small slice of jalapeno. The cream was creamy and buttery and it was sprinkled with some black pepper which gave it a very nice flavour. However I feel like this wasn’t made properly as the sushi kept on falling apart whenever I took a bite, but it was still delicious. I believe this would be my favorite dish of the night.

Spicy Chopped Scallop roll($5.50)
Screenshot_2015-07-11-17-51-58-1

The presentation of this was adorable, but unfortunately it was too long so it got cut out of the photos :(. The actual sushi though was really average. I also think it lacked in the spicy sauce. This only came with 6 pieces and I believe this was a little tiny bit over priced.

Negitoro roll($3.75)
Screenshot_2015-07-11-17-52-20-1

This is chopped tuna belly and green onion. It only came with 6 pieces. It tasted good but again, I think it was really average so I have nothing much to say about this. The plating was really pretty though, I loved those ricepaper (I think that’s what they were) pin wheels, so cute!

Spicy Tuna Oshisushi ($13.95)
Screenshot_2015-07-11-17-51-37-1

This was really unique and interesting. Instead of using the usual rice they used crispy rice, which is rice that has been deep fried. the spicy tuna was good, and there was a sauce drizzled on top of the sushi which I thought was scrumptious. this would be my second favorite dish I got here and it would be a dish that I highly recommend.

Tuna and Salmon Sashimi (3 pieces each)($10.50)
Screenshot_2015-07-11-17-50-34-1

The presentation was gorgeous. The sashimi was placed onto a block of ice, and was garnished with a flower, which made it look fancy. The actual sashimi pieces were EXTREMELY small, I don’t think I’ve ever seen sashimi pieces that were this small before. It didn’t even taste special, it tasted average. I believe this was really overpriced and most people probably only purchase this based on the presentation. If you are not going to go here for the pictures I don’t recommend getting this.

91901-tumblr_inline_nblpg5rzok1sxiy4t
Overall Rating: 8/10
The food was good, but not really special. I don’t think it was worth the wait or the money. I wouldn’t come back here if it was up to me to choose the place to eat, but if someone else chose it, then why not. Though I really would rather eat sushi somewhere else cheaper. Or if not cheaper, I would rather go to Miku and spend a little bit more money, have a better ambiance and be more comfortable. The only thing I really loved about Kishimoto is the gorgeous presentation and plating of the sushi.

Click to add a blog post for Kishimoto Japanese Kitchen & Sushi Bar on Zomato

One thought on “Kishimoto Japanese Kitchen & Sushi Bar

Leave a Reply

